IT Professional Standards

Developed in collaboration with employers

The National Occupational Standards for IT professionals are industry standards for skills, developed in collaboration with employers, professional bodies and others. They are continually updated for all key disciplines of the tech profession, and provide the building blocks for qualifications and training. The standards have been developed in line with the Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA).

The purpose of the standards is to:

  • define the capabilities (performance, knowledge and understanding) required to operate as an IT professional
  • make it easier for employers to describe job roles, externally and internally
  • provide a standard taxonomy for recognising the skills levels of employees and setting development objectives
  • enable the benchmarking of degrees and training courses against employer needs
  • help training providers and educators to develop courses that meet the needs of the tech sector
  • provide guidance to regulators when accrediting qualifications.

The IT Professional Standards are organised in 8 disciplines for the profession. They are split by levels – from new entrants (Level 3) to experienced technical leads/senior managers (Level 6) – with a Level 2 foundation level for some of the standards.

Click on the links below to access each of the displines.

Architecture, Analysis and Design

Business Change Management

Data Analytics

Information Management

Information Security (fully updated – Apr 16)

IT Service Management and Delivery


Solution Development and Implementation (includes 2 new standards – Apr 16)

Terms and conditions

The development of IT Professional Standards was undertaken by e-skills UK Sector Skills Council Ltd (e-skills UK) under authority from the UK government as the relevant Sector Skills Council and standards setting organisation for the IT industry, and subsequently by the Tech Partnership. All copyright and other intellectual property rights in the IT Professional Standards is and remains vested in e-skills UK / the Tech Partnership Ltd. View the details of classes of use and licensing arrangements